Close to 80 young surfers from all corners of South Africa will be in action at Durban’s Bay of Plenty this Saturday as they compete in the O’Neill Jordy Smith Supergrom presented by Sea Harvest.

The Surfing South Africa junior contest, which is part of the 2017 DBN X Fest, caters for girls and boys in the U10,U12,U14 and U16 age groups who will be competing for SA Surf Tour ratings points, unique trophies and a share of the R16000 in prize money and prizes on offer at the event.

The premier U16 Boys Division has attracted 18 entries, among them ratings leaders Eli Beukes and Max Elkington of Kommetjie,Luke Slijpen of Llandudno, Bryce du Preez of East London and locals Tide Lee Ireland, Saxton Randall and Karl Steen. Durban surfer S’nenhlanhla Makhubu is the pick in the U16 Girls division while Nate Spalding and Luke Thompson of Durban and Daniel Emslie, Reilly Mare and Mitch du Preez of East London are the top ranked surfers in the popular U14 Boys group.
Aimee du Preez and Zoe Steyn of East London, Jesse Powell of St Mikes and Ceara Knight of Cape Town are the top rated surfers in the U14 Girls group.

Ratings leader Kyra Bennie of Cape Town, River Gericke of the Wilderness along with Ethan Currin and Joel Fowles of East London are the pick of the talented U12 group who often provide some of the most entertaining surfing at events.

The U10 surfers, some of whom are as young as six and seven, make up the youngest group this weekend. Despite their tender years the surfers in this division are fierce competitors none more so than Sergio Nogueira of Umhlanga who has competed in six national contests this year alone. Eight year old Coffee Bay surfer Josh Malherbe, Matt Canning and Kai Hall of Durban and Meka Loots of East London are the top seeds in this fourteen strong group.

One of the highlights of the competition will be the Jordy Smith Expression Session where Jordy Smith, the current number three ranked surfer in the World and contest co sponsor, will select a group of surfers from the event to join him in a special 20 minute heat. The Jordy Smith Expression session is scheduled to take place at 11am on Saturday morning.

The heats and provisional format will be posted on by 8pm today (Thursday June 29th). The results from Day one will be updated on Saturday evening and the results of the Finals will posted on the SSA website on Sunday evening.

Competitors must meet at 7am at the Bay of Plenty on Saturday morning for a 7.30am start. The venue for the Finals, which will take place on Sunday morning will be announced during the event on Sunday and posted on the Surfing South Africa website

The 2017 O’Neill Jordy Smith Supergrom presented by Sea Harvest is sanctioned by Surfing South Africa, the recognized national governing body for the sport. Surfing South Africa is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).


Categories: News