The 2017 South African Junior Team is on their way to Hyuga in Japan to join over 40 nations at the 2017 ISA World Junior Surfing Championships.

Fourteen members of the 15 strong team, made up of eight boys, four girls, a manager and two coaches, left for Japan yesterday evening. The 15th member of the team is Ethan Fletcher who will depart on Tuesday after he completes an important school exam.

Heading up the U18 Boys Division is Adin Masencamp (Strand) who was presented with his fifth cap at the Colours Awards on Saturday night. Joshe Faulkner (Jeffrey’s Bay) wins his third cap while Koby Oberholzer (Warner Beach) and Fletcher ( Kommetjie) both win their second cap.

This tour means a third cap for U18 Boys Division surfer Sophie Bell (Salt Rock) and a second cap for Kirsty McGillivray (Jeffrey’s Bay).

Max Elkington (Kommetjie) earns a second cap in the U16 Boys group where he is joined by new caps Luke Slijpen (Llandudno), Eli Beukes (Kommetjie) and Dellin Hendricks (Jeffrey’s Bay). Kayla Nogueira (Umhlanga) and S’nenhlanhla Makhubu, both new caps, are the two U16 Girls in the side.

SSA Board Member Karen Elkington is the Team Manager with Chris Bond and Quintin Jones, the two coaches. UGU Surfriders Chairman and International Level 3 Judge has been invited by the International Surfing Association to officiate at the Championships.

The South African Team will compete in a “friendly” contest against New Zealand and England on Thursday as a warm up for the World Championships which gets under way on Saturday.

The Parade of Nations and Sands of the World Ceremony will take place on Saturday morning and along with all the heats on each day of completion will be streamed live on and

The South African Junior team is supported by the Department of Sport and Recreation South Africa. Sea Harvest has also provided support to South African junior surfing. Flights were arranged by All Aboard Travel.

Surfing South Africa is the National Governing body for the sport in South Africa. SSA is a member of the South African Sports Commission and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).

Categories: News