South African Team for the 2016 ISA World Surfing Games in Costa Rica announced by Surfing South Africa.


The Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa have confirmed the names of the surfers who have been selected to represent South Africa at the 2016 ISA World Surfing Games at Jaco in Costa Rica from August 6th – 14th.

The six members of the 2016 South African team are Michael February (Kommetjie, Western Cape), Dylan Lightfoot (Jeffrey’s Bay, Eastern Cape), Matthew Mc Gillivray (Jeffrey’s Bay, Eastern Cape), Shane Sykes (Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal), Tanika Hoffman (Hout Bay, Western Cape) and Faye Zoetmulder (Cape St Francis, Eastern Cape).

Johnny Bakker (Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape) will accompany the group as Team Manager.

The 2016 ISA World Surfing Games takes place only a few days after Surfing will find out whether it has been accepted as an Olympic sport and will be included the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo.
Over 30 countries will participate in the ISA World Surfing Games which will determine the ISA World Team champions as well as the Men’s and Women’s individual championship titles.

Shane Sykes. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

Shane Sykes. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans


Tansparent SSA logo SportsRec ISA Better Surfing for All sascoc logoHP