pegromcompposterThis Sunday’s Women’s Summersurf Challenge presented by Roxy and supported by Sport and Recreation SA has attracted over 40 girls from all parts of South Africa who will compete in the Open, Under 18, U16 and U14 divisions for R20000 in prizemoney and prizes and Surfing South Africa PST ratings points.

Top seed in the Open Division is current South African champion Heather Clark (Port Shepstone) with SA Championships finalist Faye Zoetmulder (Port Elizabeth) second seed. Zoetmulder’s teammate at the 2013 ISA World Surfing Games,Tanika Hoffman (Hout Bay) is seeded third and 2015 Under 20 SA Champion Nicole Pallet (La Lucia) is fourth seed.

All four have extensive international experience but the field is filled with talented surfers who could surprise on the day.

2015 Under 17 SA Champion Crystal Hulett (Cape St Francis) is top seed in the Under 18 Division with Sophie Bell (Umdloti) seeded second ahead of Olivia Izzard (La Lucia) and Natasha Van Greunen (Muizenberg).

Bell, a member of the 2015 SA Junior Team, is top seed in the Under 16 Division after her win in the recent Durban Gromcomp while talented Gabi Lailvaux (Westbrook) is second seed. Kayla Nogueira (Umhlanga) another KZN girl who making a name for herself, is seeded third while Summer Sutton (Kommetjie) earns a deserved fourth seeding in this competitive division.

Lailvaux is top seed in the U14 Division and S’nenhlanhla Makhubu (Durban) is seeded second.

Contestants must meet at the Bay of Plenty on Sunday March 6th at 7am for a 7.30am start. The finals will get under way at about 1pm and the award ceremony will take place on the beach at about 4pm.

The heats and provisional schedule are available here….

The Billabong Women’s Summersurf Challenge is supported by a grant from Sport & Recreation SA.

Surfing South Africa is the governing body for the sport and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).

2015 South African Women’s Champion Heather Clark of Port Shepstone

2015 South African Women’s Champion Heather Clark of Port Shepstone