Big surf, strong winds and tough conditions at Nahoon Beach in East London did not faze contestants in the 2019 Sea Harvest Nahoon Junior Open presented by Twizza Still Water and all of them gave of their best in the fourth edition of this 3A rated SA Surf Tour event which was completed on Sunday May 5th

SA Surf Tour U16 ratings leaders and East London locals Zoe Steyn and Daniel Emslie,took gold in the Girls and Boys Finals of these divisions respectively, Sarah Scott (Kommetjie) and Nathan Plomaritis (Cape St Francis) won the U14 Girls and Boys Finals while Anastasia Venter (Melkbosstrand) and David Emslie (East London) won the U12 Girls and Boys titles.

An international flavour was added to the event with an entry from Peruvian surfer Sol Aquirre who competed in the U16 Girls Division where she came second behind Zoe Steyn.

Event Head Judge Bongani Xulu and senior members of his judging panel decided that the Blow Up Award, which came with an R800 cash prize and a unique hand crafted trophy, should go to Daniel Emslie. This award was an initiative of event hosts Buffalo City Surfriders, who contributed R800 raised at the opening function towards the cash prize.

All the competitors earned valuable 3A ratings points on the SA Surf Tour and the finalists won medals and a share of the R15000 in prizemoney that was on offer at the event. All the winners got to take home unique, beaded, hand crafted trophies courtesy of five time SA Champion and National Coach, Greg Emslie and a special large cheque created by Ridge Signs.

The Sea Harvest Nahoon Junior Open was presented by Twizza Still Water, sanctioned by Surfing South Africa and hosted by the Buffalo City Surfriders who supported Surfing South Africa by providing additional staff. Buffalo City Surfriders Chairman Vaughn Meecham was the Contest Director and he was supported by Surfing South Africa Vice President Bongani Xulu and Board member Greg Emslie. Oakhampton Guest House provided the accommodation for the officials.

The full results and photos are available on as well as on the Surfing SA Facebook page and the results are published on



  1. Daniel Emslie (East London)
  2. Mitch du Preez (East London)
  3. Christian Venter (Melkbosstrand)
  4. Brad Scott (Kommetjie)


  1. Zoe Steyn (East London)
  2. Sol Aquirre (Peru)
  3. Aimee du Preez (East London)
  4. Adriel Wolmarans (East London)



  1. Nathan Plomaritis (Cape St Francis)
  2. Connor Slijpen (Llandudno)
  3. Kyra Bennie (Vredehoek)
  4. Joel Fowles (East London)


  1. Sarah Scott (Kommetjie)
  2. Maya Figl (Cape Town)
  3. Emma Bedser (East London)
  4. Zia Hendricks (Jeffreys Bay)


  1. David Emslie (East London)
  2. Josh Malherbe (East London)
  3. Levi Epenetos (Milnerton)
  4. Tristan Gaylard – Ralfe (George)


  1. Anastasia Venter ( Melkbosstrand)
  2. Yannah Figl (Cape Town)
  3. Meka Loots (East London)
  4. Taylor Emslie (East London)

A Finalist at the Sea Harvest Nahoon Junior Open presented by Twizza Still Water. Photo Pierre de Villiers.


U16 Boys Champion & Blow Up Award winner Daniel Emslie with Surfing South Africa Vice President Bongani Xulu. Photo Pierre de Villiers

Categories: News