Monday May 27th – Perfect weather and ideal 3 – 4 foot surf, great surfing and excellent camaraderie were the highlights of the 2019 Vic Bay Quad in memory of John Pfaff which was completed yesterday (Sunday May 26th)

For the first time since this iconic contest was reintroduced onto the Surfing South Africa calendar in August 2012, team honours went the way of a dominant Buffalo City Surfriders contingent.

The East London outfit posted 48136 points and beat 2018 champions Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders, who accumulated 42722 points, into second place.

Event hosts, Eden Surfriders posted 40574 points and ended third ahead of 2017 champions Cape Town Surfriders who scored 36050 points. Cape Winelands scored 34022 points and finished fifth.

Buffalo City Surfriders victory means that they have earned free accommodation at the Wilderness Bush Camp at the 2020 Vic Bay Quad, courtesy of David Pfaff.

The Nelson Mandela Bay team produced the Open Men’s Champion in Joshe Faulkner, who won all his heats and the Final and was the standout surfer of the event. Faulkner beat Bryce du Preez of Buffalo City into second place with another Buffalo City surfer, Graeme Field, taking third ahead of Adin Jeenes of Eden Surfriders.

Natasha Van Greunen of Cape Winelands Surfriders beat Tarryn Chudleigh of Cape Town Surfriders into second place in the Women’s final. Buffalo City surfer Tayla de Coning came third and  Tanika Hoffman of Cape Town Surfriders took fourth place.

The Over 30 Division Final was an all Eastern Cape affair with Tyrell Johnson of Buffalo City beating Nelson Mandela Bay surfers Mark Zunckel and Kyle Jacobs into second and third respectively. Tyrell’s brother Orrin, came fourth.

Buffalo City surfers dominated the Over 40 Final with honours going to Wayne Monk. Team mates Tyrell Johnson and Graeme Field were second and third and Warwick Heny of Nelson Mandela Bay came fourth.

Steven Hair of Eden Surfriders scored a hat trick in the Over 50 Division Final when he won this title for the third year in a row. Richard Heath of Cape Winelands was runner up, Trevor Hansen of Nelson Mandela Bay was third and Patrick Cuthbert of Eden Surfriders came fourth.

The first Vic Bay Quad took place back in 1976. It was originally contested by Southern Cape (known as South Western Districts back then), Western Province, Eastern Province and Border. In the early 1980’s Boland sent a team to the event but it retained its name as the Vic Bay Quad even though there were five teams taking part. At one stage a team from the SA Defence Force also competed in the event but it has always been known as the Vic Bay Quad.

After a break of nearly a decade the Vic Bay Quad was added to the Surfing South Africa calendar in 2012 as a memorial to its founder John Pfaff. The original format for the event has been retained with surfers competing Open Division for Men and Women as well as Over 30, Over 40 and Over 50 Men’s Divisions.

At the end of the contest every surfer’s allocated scores determine the team champions. The John Pfaff Trophy, created by local surfer Steven Hair, is awarded to the winning team.

The 2018 Vic Bay Quad in memory of John Pfaff was presented by Surfing South Africa, hosted by Eden Surfriders and supported by the Western Cape Department of Culture and Sport.

Eden Surfriders Secretary Thalia Pollock not only coordinated the event but also secured all the prizes for the finalists.

Buffalo City Surfriders win 2019 Vic Bay Quad: photo Melissa Johnson

Joshe Faulkner of Nelson Mandela Bay: 2019 Vic Bay Quad Open Champion

Categories: News