BALLITO, KWADUKUZA, SOUTH AFRICA – Luke Thompson (Durban) and Piper Harrison (AUS) have won the Pro Junior Boys and Girls at the Ballito O’Neill SMTH Shapes Pro Junior, which was completed in contestable 3-4 foot surf at Willard Beach, Ballito Saturday (June 29th).

Thomson’s victory came at the expense of fellow 2019 South African Junior Team members Eli Beukes and Luke Slijpen (both Kommetjie), who were second and third respectively. Joh Auchi (Japan) came fourth.

Harrison edged Zoe Steyn (East London) into second place, Rachel Presti (Germany) was third) and Pacha Luque – Light (Australia) took fourth.

Thompson added the U16 Boys title to his perfect day at the office beating Mitch du Preez and Reilly Mare (both East London) into second and third place respectively. Nate Spalding (Durban) was fourth.

Pro Junior runner up and another member of the 2019 SA Junior Team, Zoe Steyn (East London) took honours in the U16 Girls Final, beating fellow SA Junior Team members Kayla Nogueira (Umhlanga) and Ceara Knight (Kommetjie) into second and third respectively. Adriel Wolmarans (East London) came fourth.

Nate Colby (Durban) won the U14 Boys Division with River Gericke (Wilderness) taking the runner up sport. Nathan Plomaritis (Cape St Francis) was third and Joel Fowles (East London) came fourth.

Australian girls Coco Cairns and Zahlia Short took first and second in the U14 Girls final with Mayah Potgieter (Margate) taking third and Sarah Scott (Kommetjie) ending fourth.

A stoked Josh Malherbe (East London) won the competitive and well supported U12 Boys Division, Joshua Jeffris (Durban) came second, Matt Canning (Durban North) was third and Rory Dace (Seal Point) was fourth.

Diminutive Louise Le Pront will return home to Scottburgh with a maiden SAST title firmly in her pocket, having won the U12 Girls Final. Gabi Herbst (Durban) was second and Shayla Short (Australia) took third. Meka Loots (East London) were fourth and fifth respectively.

The U12 to U16 divisions at this O’Neil SMTH Shapes Ballito Pro Junior were presented as a 4A rated SA Surf Tour event by Surfing South Africa. Surfers competing in these divisions earned points on the 2019 SA Surf Tour ratings as well as a share of the R22 000 prizemoney on offer.

Double champion Luke Thompson – Photo WSL/Janssens

Categories: News