Dairy Beach, Durban: National Junior Team members, Kayla Nogueira of Umhlanga and Luke Thompson of Durban won the U16 Girls & U16 Boys titles respectively at the Sea Harvest Dairy Patrol Challenge presented by Sisonke Surf Club at Dairy Beach in Durban on Saturday September 7th.

Both surfers had to work hard for their wins in the difficult onshore conditions. Their respective victories in the premier divisions at the 1A rated SAST contest earned them some much needed prize money and SA Surf Tour ratings points.

Nogueira’s National team mate, Ceara Knight of Kommetjie came second and talented 12 year old Gabi Herbst of Durban was third. Louise Le Pront, another up and coming 12 year old from the KZN South Coast came fourth in the Final.

Thompson beat fellow Durban surfer Nate Spalding into second place and South Coast surfer Jordan Boshoff came third. Luke Van Wyk of Kommetjie was fourth and moved up into second place on the SAST rankings.

In the U14 Boys Final Evan Peyios took his maiden SAST victory when he beat fellow Durban surfers Kai May and Joel Trickett into second and third place respectively. Ntokozo “Surprise” Maphumalo of the Durban based Sisonke surf Club came fourth.

A stoked Gordon Falangile of Durban became the toast of the Sisonke Surf Club when he secured his maiden SAST victory in the U12 Boys division. The plucky 11 year old mastered the tough conditions to beat Durban surfers Joshua Jefferis and Clayton Turrell into second and third place. Cooper Smith of Umhlanga was fourth.

UGU District surfers Kirra Attfield and Maya Potgieter were first and second in the U14 Girls Division and in the U12 Girls Division Gabi Herbst came first and Louise le Pront was second.

Surfers from all parts of the country competed in this 1A rated South African Surf Tour Event which offered in excess of R15000 in prize money and SAST ratings points across the four divisions.

The Sea Harvest Dairy Patrol Challenge was presented by Sisonke Surf Club and supported by Pure +  

Gordon Falangile of the Sisonke Surf Club. U12 Champion. Photo Dawn Rouse


Categories: News