Women’s Day Surf Challenge

1A Rated Surfing South Africa PST event.
Featuring Women, Under 20 and Under 16 Girls and Rookies
Muizenberg Pavilion, Muizenberg, Cape Town
9 August 2012

Danielle Johnson : Under 20 Champion at Women’s Day Challenge in Muizenberg : Photo Claire Butler


National Women’s Day was celebrated in style yesterday when the Cape edition of the Women’s Day Surf Challenge presented by Surfing South Africa (SSA) and supported by Sport and Recreation South Africa took place at Muizenberg Pavilion.

Held in benign winter conditions, and light 3 foot offshore winds the Cape edition of this unique celebration of Women’s surfing went off without a hitch.

Not only did the event feature surfers from the Cape Peninsula but it also played host to a group of surfers who travelled all the way from the Eastern Cape to participate.
In addition, six girls from the Isiqalo Waves of Change project competed in the Rookie Division where two of them reached the final.

The Rookie Division was won by Georgie Snaddon with Kiah Bettison taking second place ahead of Noncedo Mahunu, who was third and Michelle Jonas who came fourth.

In the well supported honours went the way of Jeffrey’s Bay local Tahra Uren who beat local girl Anoush Zakarian into second place. Another Eastern Cape surfer, Britney Linder, was third and Ruth Armstrong filled fourth place in the final.

Local girl Danielle Johnson, who learned to surf at Muizenberg, out surfed her fellow Under 20 finalists to take her first ever Pro Surf Tour victory. She beat Holly Armstrong into second place with Jeffrey’s Bay surfers Emma Smith and Tahra Uren taking third and fourth respectively.

The Women’s final featured two current South African champions in Nikita Robb and Tasha Mentasti, the defending event champion Chantelle Rautenbach and another top South African surfer, Tarryn Chudleigh.

In a fitting climax to a highly successful Women’s Day event current SA Champion Nikita Robb beat the recently crowned SA Masters champion Tasha Mentasti to take the title. Tarryn Chudleigh came third and last year’s champion Chantelle Rautenbach was fourth.

The winners of the Women’s, Under 20 and Under 16 divisions will each receive a brand new surfboard from Stubby Surfboards while the winner of the rookies division will receive a brand new Reef Wetsuits Triplex Wetsuit.

A simultaneous event was held at the Bay of Plenty in Durban.

Both venues featured 1A rated PST events for Open Women, Under 20 and U16’s with R2 500 in prize-money at stake in each division while the Rookies won generous prizes. .

The results are available on www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za

The Women’s Day Surf Challenge was supported by a grant from Sport & Recreation SA.

Surfing South Africa is the governing body for the sport and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).