The Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa has confirmed the names of the surfers who will represent South Africa at the 2018 VISLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championships in Huntington Beach, California from October 24th to November 5th.

The U18 Boys Team is Angelo Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay), Bryce du Preez (East London) and Luke Slijpen (Hout Bay). Eli Beukes (Kommetjie) is the non-travelling official reserve while Tayla de Coning (East London), Gabi Lailvaux (Westbrook) and Zoe Steyn (East London) will compete in the U18 Girls Division

Mitch du Preez (East London), Tide Lee Ireland (Durban) and Luke Thompson (Durban) make up the U16 Boys group with Aya Gericke (Wilderness) named as the non-travelling official reserve.
The U16 Girls team is Zoe Steyn (East London), Kayla Nogueira (Umhlanga) and Ceara Knight (Kommetjie) with Summer Sutton (Kommetjie) the non-travelling official reserve.

Chris Bond (Cape Town) and Etienne Venter (Jeffreys Bay) are the coaches.
The South Africa Junior Team will be awarded their colours at the Opening Function of the Sea Harvest SA Surfing Championships in Jeffreys Bay on Tuesday October 2nd.

Close on 300 surfers from over 40 countries are expected to participate in the popular International Surfing Association World Junior Championships which will determine the ISA World Junior Team champions as well as the U18 & U16 Boys and Girls individual championship gold medalists.

Categories: News