A3 Billabong Summer Surf Challenge Poster HedSouth Africa’s top female surfers will take centre stage this weekend when they compete in the annual Billabong Women’s Summersurf Challenge supported by Sport and Recreation South Africa..

The event features four divisions, namely Open Women, Under 20, U16’s and U14’s, and offers R20,000 in prizemoney as well as prizes to those contestants who reach the semi finals and finals. All the Divisions are part of the Surfing South Africa Pro Surf Tour and all competitors will earn ratings points on the PST.

Heading up the strong Open field are current South African team members Tanika Hoffmann (Hout Bay) and Faye Zoetmulder (Port Elizabeth), both of whom will leave for China next week to represent South Africa at the ISA China Cup. Top Western Province and former National team member Tarryn Chudleigh(Kommetjie) is second seed in this weekend’s event while Danielle Johnson (Muizenberg), Anoush Zakarian (Melkbosstrand) and KZN girls Jade Metsand Olivia Brand will be hoping to make an impression.

Brand, Mets and Zakarian are the top seeds in the U20 Division while Crystal Hulett (St Francis) and Vic Bay twins Kayla and Michelle Verreynne are some of the other surfers to watch in this group.

The competitive U16 Division has attracted the largest number of entries. The top six seeds are all surfers from out of town. Cana Foster of Umdloti, Michelle Verreynne of Vicbay, Kia Fenton of Port Elizabeth, Nina Harmse of Herolds Bay, Sophie Bell of Shakaskraal and Kayla Verreynne of VicBay are seeded in that order while Natasha Van Greunen of Marina da Gama is seeded seventh and is the top ranked local.

Sophie Bell heads up the U14 Division with Olivia Izzard of La Lucia with Jeffrey’s Bay girls Kirsty McGillivray and Zoe Smith making up the top four. Anna Jellema Butler of Kalk Bay is the highest ranked local in this division.

Contestants will meet at Long Beach, Kommetjie at 7.30am on Saturday where the surf is expected to be in the three foot range throughout the day. The event will be coordinated by Tasha Mentasti, the Contest Director is SSA Women’s representative Ann Wright and the Head Judge is Emma Bone. The SSA computer scoring system will be used and there will be commentary from Tasha Mentasti and Stacey Guy. Vangie Boettger will be representing Billabong at the event.

The heats and provisional schedule will be available on  www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za by Thursday November 13th.

The Billabong Women’s Summersurf Challenge is supported by a grant from Sport & Recreation SA.

Surfing South Africa is the governing body for the sport and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).


Tanika Hoffman of Hout Bay, Billabong team rider and top seed in Open Women’s Division : photo ISA