Anna Notten, South Africa’s double silver medal winner

The South African SUP and Paddleboard Team went one better than last year and made history in Peru on Saturday March 2nd when they finished second behind Australia in the overall team standings at the 2013 ISA World Stand Up Paddle and Paddleboard Championships in Peru at the weekend.

In a fantastic team effort South Africa also finished second behind Australia and ahead of France and Brazil in the Team Relay.

In the individual results, Anna Notten of Cape Town was the toast of the South African team, winning a silver medal in the Women’s Paddleboard Technical race and the Women’s Paddleboard Technical race respectively.

Young Dylan Frick of Gordon’s Bay won a bronze medal for his efforts in the Men’s SUP Technical race while Ryan Butcher won bronze medals in the SUP Technical race and the SUP Long Distance race respectively.

Other members of the team were Justin Bing, Chris Bertish, Scott Rutherfoord, Tammy Robarts, Shelley Bradfield, Francois Frick (coach) and Bruce Johnston (manager).

The second ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championships attracted a record number of athletes from 23 countries making it the most diverse SUP and Paddleboard event in history.

The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running the Open Division World Championship since 1964, the World Junior Surfing Championship since 1980, the World Masters Surfing Championship since 2007, the World Bodyboard Championship since 2011, the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival in China, and the World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship beginning in 2012. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the World Tandem Surfing Championship, and will launch the World Longboard Championship in 2013.

ISA membership is made up of the surfing National Governing Bodies of 72 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), is the President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and the four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).

Anna Notten

SUP South Africa (SUPSA) is a member of Surfing South Africa (SSA), the recognised governing body for surfing, longboarding, SUP and  bodyboarding in South Africa. Surfing South Africa is a founder member of the International Surfing Association.

Australia- 24,140 points, Gold Medal
South Africa- 17,005 points, Silver Medal
Mexico- 15,119 points, Bronze Medal
Peru- 14,118 points, Copper Medal
Brazil- 13,771 points
France- 13,682 points
Argentina- 12,833 points
Venezuela- 12,287 points
United Kingdom- 10,709 points
Canada- 7,898 points
Spain- 7,108 points
Denmark- 5,755 points
Puerto Rico- 5,446 points
USA- 5,196 points
Chile- 4,919 points
Japan- 4,537 points
New Zealand- 3,560 points
Ireland- 3,240 points
Sweden- 2,860 points
Germany- 2,696 points
Tahiti- 1,850 points
Panama & El Salvador – 600 points

Team Relay
Australia, Gold Medal
South Africa, Silver Medal
France, Bronze Medal
Brazil, Copper Medal

Men’s SUP Surfing

Sean Poynter (USA), Gold Medal
Tamil Martino (PER), Silver Medal
Antoine Delpero (FRA), Bronze Medal
Beau Nixon (AUS), Copper Medal

Women’s SUP Surfing
Nicole Pacelli (BRA), Gold Medal
Shakira Westdorp (AUS), Silver Medal
Iballa Ruano (SPA), Bronze Medal
Caroline Angibaud (FRA), Copper Medal

Men’s SUP Technical Race
Casper Steinfath (DEN), Gold Medal
Jamie Mitchell (AUS), Silver Medal
Dylan Frick (RSA), Bronze Medal
Paul Jackson (NZL), Copper Medal

Women’s SUP Technical Race
Angela Jackson (AUS), Gold Medal
Olivia  Piana (FRA), Silver Medal
Barbara Brasil (BRA), Bronze Medal
Laura Quetglas (SPA), Copper Medal

Men’s Paddleboard Technical Race
Lincoln Dews (AUS), Gold Medal
Brad Gaul (AUS), Silver Medal
Ryan Butcher (RSA), Bronze Medal
Luiz Escudero (PER), Copper Medal

Women’s Paddleboard Technical Race
Jordan Mercer (AUS), Gold Medal
Anna Notten (RSA), Silver Medal
Rocio Larranaga (PER), Bronze Medal
Shannon Bell (CAN), Copper Medal

Men’s SUP Long Distance Race
Jamie Mitchell (AUS), Gold Medal
Casper Steinfath (DEN), Silver Medal
Fernando Stalla (MEX), Bronze Medal
Paul Jackson (NZL), Copper Medal

Women’s SUP Long Distance Race
Angela Jackson (AUS), Gold Medal
Olivia Piana (FRA), Silver Medal
Shannon Bell (CAN), Bronze Medal
Laura Quetgals (SPA), Copper Medal

Men’s Paddleboard Distance Race
Brad Gaul (AUS), Gold Medal
Lincoln Dews (AUS), Silver Medal
Ryan Butcher (RSA), Bronze Medal
Luiz Escudero (PER), Copper Medal

Women’s Paddleboard Distance Race
Jordan Merce (AUS), Gold Medal
Anna Notten (RSA), Silver Medal
Rocio Larrranaga (PER), Bronze Medal
Risa Machucha (MEX), Copper Medal