Wednesday September 25th – Small waves, tough onshore conditions and a chilly wind greeted surfers on Day One of the 2019 Sea Harvest SA Junior Surfing Championships at Lower Point in Jeffreys Bay but despite this there were some high quality performances posted by a number of surfers throughout the day.

Brad Scott of Cape Town Surfriders made a great start to his SA Junior Championships campaign when he posted the highest score of the day, a 15, 50 points out of a possible 20 in the first heat of the U16 Division.

His team mate Luke Van Wyk also won his first round heat in this division as did Daniel Emslie and Mitch du Preez of Buffalo City Surfriders, Christian Venter and Josh Myburgh of Cape Winelands Surfriders and Luke Thompson and Nate Spalding of eThekweni Surfriders.

In the U18 Boys first round, defending SA Champion Tide Lee Ireland posted a 14, 25 to record the highest score in this division. Other heat winners were Ireland’s eThekweni team mate Karl Steen, Luke Slijpen, Eli Beukes and Manoa Robb of Cape Town, Thomas Lindhorst of Buffalo City and Angelo Faulkner of Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders.

Nate Colby’s 12, 25 was the highest score in the U14 Boys round one. His eThekweni team mates Ntokozo “Surpise” Maphumalo, a 2018 Sea Harvest Surfing Excellence Award recipient, and Joel Trickett, also won their heats as did River Gericke of Eden Surfriders, Leo Letschert of Cape Town, Joel Dace and Nathan Plomaritis of Nelson Mandela Bay and Joel Fowles of Buffalo City.

In the U18 Girls round one Tayla de Coning’s 14,25 was the highest heat score, Other heat winners were Summer Sutton of Cape Town and Gabi Lailvaux of eThekeweni.

The official opening ceremony of 23rd edition of the Sea Harvest SA Surfing Championships  was held at Jeffreys Bay Primary School Hall on Tuesday evening where the nine competing teams were on hand to watch the members of 2019 SA junior Surfing receive their national colours from Surfing South Africa President, Johnny Bakker.

The strong team of six boys and six girls have all raised their own funds to be able to compete in the ISA World Junior Championships in California at the end of October. They will be accompanied by a management team of three.

Another highlight of the evening was the respect shown to 90 year old Graham Hynes who was awarded Honorary Life Membership of surfing South Africa at the function.

Graham Hynes began coaching surfers and surfing teams in the mid 60’s and attended the opening function as the coach of the Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders Team who are the hosts of this year’s championships.

At stake at the 2019 Sea Harvest SA Junior Surfing Championships are individual national titles for Under 12, Under 14, Under 16 and Under 18 boys and girls along with the coveted Freedom Cup, which was introduced in 2003 and goes to the district whose team members accumulate the highest points tally across all age divisions. Over 250 surfers are competing in the event, making it the biggest junior surf contest on the annual Surfing South Africa calendar.

Surfing South Africa uses a scoring system called Liveheats which provides up to the second heat scores to all mobile devices every day of the Sea Harvest SA Junior Championships. To access this information go and click on the Liveheats box or go directly to  

Heat results are updated on this platform as they are completed.

Updates and photos will be published on the Surfing SA Facebook page and a summary of the event will be broadcast on Supersport in October.

The Sea Harvest SA Surfing Championships is a premier Surfing South Africa tournament. Surfing South Africa is the recognised governing body for the sport in South Africa and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC), the African Surfing Confederation (ASC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).

Ntokozo “Surprise” Maphumalo – photo Ian Thurtell

Categories: News